An ode to Florence

o-FLORENCE-facebook.jpg

It was love at first sight when I visited Florence last year during my Christmas holidays. A day before I was to leave Florence, unbidden some words flowed out of me, because only through those words could I encapsulate  what I felt for Florence.

It had been whispered,

And I had heard.

I had read,

And my mind had conjured.

But Florence, you are a beauty to behold,

To be walked, felt, experienced.

The sun has now set,

A full moon now looks over;

And as I look over you,

The Duomo bells toll,

Tolling my having fallen in love with you.

 

Leave a Reply

